Beauty is Pain

Victoria Beckham is known around the globe as a former Spice Girl-turned-fashion designer.  Now the mother of four, and wife of David Beckham, is adding another moniker to her title, and it’s not what you would expect.

Beckham’s penchant for carrying her oversize handbag on her bent elbow has led doctors to coin the term “poshitis,” their word for the patients they see with damaged elbows as a result of bending like [Victoria] Beckham.

“Your elbow was designed to be a moving joint, not a hook for your purse,” fitness therapy expert Jill Miller told ABC News.  “Sore necks, sore upper backs, sore shoulders and shoulders that have been pulled out of place and tendinitis in the elbows, these are all a direct result of carrying these handbags.”

Doctors say carrying bags that weigh more than 5 pounds can be hazardous to your health.  The good news for fashionistas is that the trend is now moving away from the oversize, carry-all bags and towards handheld clutches.

“This is on the upside of the trend curve,” Audrey Slater, fashion director of Redbook magazine, told ABC News of the smaller purse.  “It just looks chic and you don’t have to grimace on your face because you’re uncomfortable.”

While “poshitis” is in the spotlight now, it’s not only handbags that are causing damage to women’s bodies for the sake of beauty.

For women who still aren’t completely aboard the clutch trend, experts recommend following these tips to lighten the load.

Two bags are better than one. Always carry an extra bag with you. That way if you have more to cart around, you can put it in this little bag and wear it on both shoulders.

Purses with long straps better than short ones. Wear the strap across your heart to better distribute the weight and give your shoulder a little break.

While they might not be the cutest options, the backpack and rolly bags are the best bet for your back. The backpack gives you an equal distribution of weight on both shoulders, and the rolly bag takes the weight off your back altogether.

Skinny Jeans giving you nerve damage?

Wearing super-skinny jeans could cause nerve damage, doctors have warned.

According to research, skinny jean wearers could be risking their health all in the name of fashion. Experts claimed that the trousers may cause users to develop meralgia paresthetica, a chronic neurological disorder.

“This disorder occurs when one of the nerves on the outer part of the thigh compresses and pressure on in causes symptoms of tingling and numbness and pain,” said Dr Karen Boyle, a  urologic surgeon from Washington DC.

Other symptoms include occasional aching in the groin area or pain spreading across the buttocks, a burning sensation in the thighs as well as hypersensitivity to heat.

“One woman described it as a floating sensation when she was walking; her thighs felt week and tingly and she got pain in the thighs,” Boyle added.

She added that the popular combination of skinny jeans and ultra-high heels increases the chances of developing meralgia paresthetica.

“Because the pelvis tilts it can further accentuate the pressure that’s placed on those nerves,” she explained.

If not corrected the condition can become serious and potentially lead to permanent damage.

In severe cases, surgery may be needed to decompress the nerve or as a last resort to remove it. The latter treatment results in permanent numbness in the area.

Consumers should consider jeans that have some stretch built into them to prevent the nerves being compressed, the doctors said.

Not going to stop me with either the purse or the jeans, but incase you wanted to know!! lol

 

July 15, 2013. July.

34 Comments

  1. オークリーメガネ replied:

    Have you ever considered publishing an ebook or guest authoring on other
    blogs? I have a blog based upon on the same ideas you discuss
    and would really like to have you share some stories/information.
    I know my viewers would enjoy your work. If you are even
    remotely interested, feel free to send me an e-mail.

  2. black military boots replied:

    Howdy! I realize this is somewhat off-topic but I needed to ask.
    Does operating a well-established blog like yours require a massive amount work?
    I’m completely new to operating a blog but I do write in my diary daily. I’d
    like to start a blog so I can easily share
    my own experience and feelings online. Please let me know
    if you have any ideas or tips for new aspiring bloggers.
    Appreciate it!

    • amandaemc80 replied:

      no it is very easy and wordpress is very easy to navigate. Just sign in and follow the instructions. that easy

  3. オークリー通販 replied:

    Hello there, just became aware of your blog through Google,
    and found that it is really informative. I am going to watch out
    for brussels. I’ll be grateful if you continue this in future. Many people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  4. Replica Rolex watches replied:

    I don’t even know how I ended up here, however I believed this submit was once great. I do not recognize who you are however definitely you’re going to a well-known blogger when you aren’t already. Cheers!

  5. Discount rolex watches UK replied:

    Greetings! Very helpful advice in this particular post!
    It’s the little changes that make the greatest changes. Many thanks for sharing!

  6. Rolex Day-Date replied:

    Good post! We will be linking to this particularly great
    article on our website. Keep up the great writing.

  7. http://www.commodealanger.org replied:

    Asking questions are genuinely fastidious thing if you are not understanding anything entirely,
    but this post gives nice understanding even.

  8. 激安オークリーサングラス replied:

    Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you writing this write-up and the rest of
    the site is also really good.

  9. Rolex Watches replied:

    Greetings I am so happy I found your webpage, I really found you by
    accident, while I was browsing on Askjeeve for something else,
    Anyways I am here now and would just like
    to say thank you for a tremendous post and a all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design),
    I don’t have time to read through it all at the moment but I have book-marked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the awesome work.

  10. Replica Rolex watches UK replied:

    You have made some really good points there. I looked on the
    web to find out more about the issue and found most people will go along
    with your views on this website.

  11. ナイキジョーダン replied:

    It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button!
    I’d definitely donate to this brilliant blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for book-marking and adding your RSS
    feed to my Google account. I look forward to fresh updates and will share this site
    with my Facebook group. Chat soon!

  12. 激安オークリーサングラス replied:

    Greetings! I’ve been reading your website for a while now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Porter Tx! Just wanted to mention keep up the fantastic job!

  13. 2013airjodanfreeshippingjp.com replied:

    I think the admin of this site is really working hard in favor of his
    site, for the reason that here every stuff is quality based information.

  14. Replica Rolex watches replied:

    Your style is really unique compared to other people I have read
    stuff from. Thank you for posting when you have the opportunity,
    Guess I’ll just bookmark this site.

  15. click here replied:

    I visited multiple web sites but the audio feature
    for audio songs current at this web site is truly superb.

  16. ナイキジョーダン replied:

    I have been surfing online more than 2 hours today, yet I never
    found any interesting article like yours. It is pretty worth enough for me.
    In my view, if all webmasters and bloggers made good content as you did,
    the internet will be a lot more useful than ever before.

  17. エアジョーダン15 replied:

    Incredible! This blog looks exactly like my old
    one! It’s on a entirely different topic but it has pretty much the same page layout and design. Excellent choice of colors!

  18. ナイキジョーダン replied:

    Great delivery. Great arguments. Keep up the great effort.

  19. Rolex Watches replied:

    great points altogether, you simply gained a emblem new reader.
    What could you recommend about your publish that
    you simply made a few days in the past? Any positive?

  20. chronic renal failure replied:

    Very useful information. Hope to notice more blogposts soon!
    chronic renal failure http://www.nexopia.com/users/tie55bait/blog/1-creative-plans-around-kidney-never-before-revealed

  21. kidney treatment replied:

    Thank you for your article, it is extremely useful, will surely try to test what you have indicated… there’s only one factor I want to discuss in more detail, My spouse and i wrote an e-mail to your handle about it.
    kidney treatment http://jelly98nic.soup.io/post/316646356/The-Astonishing-Profitable-Effect-Of-kidney-diet

  22. エアジョーダン12 replied:

    I like the valuable info you supply for your
    articles. I will bookmark your blog and test once more here frequently.
    I’m rather certain I will learn many new stuff right right here! Good luck for the following!

  23. Rolex Milgauss replied:

    I every time emailed this blog post page to all my contacts, since if like to read it afterward
    my links will too.

  24. www.2013airjordanfreeshipping.com replied:

    I pay a quick visit daily some sites and blogs to read articles, except this website provides quality based writing.

  25. harrison replied:

    Top publish. I look forward for you to reading more. Cheers

  26. ナイキエアジョーダン replied:

    I couldn’t refrain from commenting. Well written!

  27. yolasite.com replied:

    Thanks very nice blog!

  28. Rolex Yachtmaster replied:

    I could not resist commenting. Exceptionally well written!

  29. Discount rolex watches UK replied:

    There is definately a lot to find out about this topic.
    I really like all of the points you’ve made.

  30. Rolex Replica Watches UK replied:

    Right here is the right website for anybody who wishes to find out about this topic.

    You realize so much its almost tough to argue with you (not that I really would want to…HaHa).

    You certainly put a brand new spin on a topic that has been discussed
    for decades. Great stuff, just great!

  31. Replica Rolex watches UK replied:

    This piece of writing is actually a nice one it assists new net
    people, who are wishing in favor of blogging.

  32. Rolex Replica Watches UK replied:

    Hi to all, how is everything, I think every one is getting more from this site, and your
    views are nice designed for new viewers.

  33. Rplica Rolex Watches UK replied:

    I get pleasure from, result in I found just what I used to be having a look for.
    You’ve ended my four day long hunt! God Bless you man. Have a nice day. Bye

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

